About Face I

John William Waterhouse
John William Waterhouse

In a prior post, I promised to return to the subject of aging and vanity.

Fasten your seat belt–here we go!

Mark Shaw Vanity Fair
Mark Shaw
Vanity Fair

 

Mark Shaw Vanity Fair
Mark Shaw
Vanity Fair

 

For about 10 days, or so, I have been under the weather, with a ROTTEN cold.

Bored, I read everything in sight, including  “Empty Mansions:  The Mysterious Life of Huguette Clark and the Spending of a Great American Fortune”.  Won’t spoil it for you, but talk about the Introvert’s Introvert!

Huguette Clark
Huguette Clark

I started Hillary Mantel’s “Wolf Hall”  but found the bloody 1500’s a little too much for my state of being.  Ever notice how when you are sick, things (even benign) take on a malevolent tinge?

Boredom led to the Online News.

“50 and Fabulous!” the headline crowed.  Over 999 sources and articles were listed.  Oh my.  My little shadow sister, whom I will name Envy, had a field day.

Exhausted, and mildly ashamed, I turned to lighter reading.  Real Simple’s January edition on THE BALANCED LIFE.

Immediately, that little monkey, Envy, found an article on SOLVE YOUR SKIN PROBLEMS.  

  Q:  Acne and wrinkles at the same time? A:  Try a Retinoid. Daily.

Now wait, We thought:  Isn’t there some Retinol in the medicine cabinet from our beloved’s brush with skin cancer? Hmmmm.  Isn’t that the same stuff in these fancy shmancy potions?  Hmmmmmm…

Vanity

After 10 days of never ending mucous, hacking, and dehydration and the lovely wardrobe to bring comfort (old stained thermals in the shade of tootsie roll brown), it seemed like a good idea!  Why not multi-task?  If Flotus can be 50 and fab, open to Botox and Refreshers, We can at least be “60 and Scintillating!”

I began the Retinol.

Day 1.  Ok!  A little dryness, tightness.  Isn’t that what it is supposed to do?

Day 2.  Hm.  Ok…

Day 3.   The Sahara Desert appeared to be on my face and in the mirror.

Alarmed,  I thought:  “It’s that wicked cold!  Has me so dehydrated!!”.

But wait,  I had plenty of water, tea, made 4 different kinds of soup (from scratch).

Day 4.  Did I get overexposed to the Sun in the dead of winter? Nope. CR@P.

All is Vanity

Dammit Envy! Dammit Vanity!

Every day since has been a vain attempt at reviving my poor face.

You know that old cliche about being comfortable in your own skin?

I’ll add that to my Bamboo List (see Going Bamboo).

Vox Anima, SDM

elizabethmacdonald blogspot
elizabethmacdonald
blogspot

 

 

 

Author: Susan Davis Martin, M.A., M.F.T. & StillDancing...

Body Soul Confluence Where The Arts and Psyche Meet

Leave a comment