Molto Mantra Per Favore

I remember sitting with my beloved psychotherapist, guide, and mother mentor and exclaiming:  I forgot!

In context, let’s just say, that I had forgotten something quite essential to my own being and nature.  And in the process of Her presence, I remembered.

After my exclamation and reflexive self criticism on forgetting, She, with great love, reassured me that this is the human condition.

And, pointed out all are subject to the phenomenon of forgetting and remembering in developing consciousness.

Martha Graham  Photo by Imogen Cunningham
Martha Graham
Photo by Imogen Cunningham

If memory serves, this was over a decade ago.

MarthaGraham“If any one faculty of our nature may be called more wonderful than the rest, I do think it is memory.  There seems something more speakingly incomprehensible in the powers, the failures, the inequalities of memory, than in any other of our intelligences.  The memory is sometimes so retentive, so serviceable, so obedient; at others, so bewildered and so weak; and at others again, so tyrannic, so beyond control! We are, to be sure, a miracle every way; but our powers of recollecting and of forgetting do seem peculiarly past finding out. ”  Jane Austen,  Mansfield Park

In recalling the birth of this website, again, over a decade ago, I want to revive the mantra that guided me at the time–a kind of love letter to the Soul:

“There is a vitality, a life force, an energy, a quickening that is translated through you into Martha Graham 40, 1931_jpgaction; and because there is only one of you in all time, this expression is unique.  If you block it, it will never exist in any other medium and it will be lost.  The world will not have it.  You must keep that channel open.  It is not for you to determine how good it is, nor how valuable.  Nor how it compares with other expressions.  It is for you to keep it yours, clearly, and directly.”  Martha Graham

tumblr_lvuevzmFoL1r79lczo1_500
Vox Anima, SDM

Martha Graham

Photo Credits:  Tumblr

Author: Susan Davis Martin, M.A., M.F.T. & StillDancing...

Body Soul Confluence Where The Arts and Psyche Meet

Leave a comment